an irreverent look at Writtle Village, Essex, its people and goings on!
  Fax:07092 336131
e-mail editor
This site has been updated on December 2006

Search Disgruntled


How to contact  us Updated


Contribute to

Feedback Form

Sign our Guest Book

Polo Shirt Offer

Welcome Page



From the Writtle PC



History of the Bells

New Bells June Dedication

Writtle Fun Day


Broadband Easter meeting

Writtle Annual Meeting

Writtle Local Elections

 Wear Pond Expansion

New Visitor to Writtle

Writtle Update

December 2002
They don't apply to me

Italian Job

Police Presentation

Previous issues

A Lid too Far

On the Buses Update

Village Meeting

Teddy Bears
Aerial Runway

Golden Jubilee Celebrations

Residents Association Meeting

Polo Shirt Offer

 April 2002
The Queen Mother

On the buses in Writtle

 The Hunting debate

 Feb 2002
Lodge Road
Traffic Calming


Feedback results

Police Picture

2001 fete
Cheque Presentation

2001 Archive
 Dec 2001

Christmas Fable

Community Policing Writtle Style

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4

Festive Gruel 


Pooper Snooper for Writtle?

Writtle Fete

All Saints Bell Appeal Barndance

Hannibal the Terrapin of Wear Pond

The Great Post Box debate Update 

Election Results

The Wheatsheaf Charity Golf Day Pictures 

Writtle Parish Annual Meeting

The Great Post Box debate

The Green After the Circus

Albania Calling

Election Information

Teddies Galore!

All Saints Bell Appeal

Wheatsheaf Charity Golf Contest


Previous Issues
April, May

Dog Poo
and related matters

Road traffic,  
a  problem?

On Writtle pond 

Fuel Prices etc

What is Art? 

What is Philosophy?

Election Results

Results downloaded from

The Register of Electors and Voting

How to contact us

By e-mail:

By telephone: (01245) 606447

By fax: (01245) 606308

Or write to: 
Electoral Registration
Chelmsford Borough Council
Civic Centre
Duke Street


Parliamentary Election Results - West Chelmsford
7th June 2001

Simon Burns Conservative 20,446
Adrian Longden Labour 14,185
Stephen Robinson Liberal Democrat 11,197
Eleanor Burgess Green Party 837
Kenneth Weedon UKIP 785
Christopher Philbin LCA 693

Turnout  61.8%


Essex County Council Election Results



Essex County Council Election Results


Broomfield & Writtle

Wendy Cole Conservative 2,900 ELECTED

Angela Robinson Liberal Democrat 2,031

Simon Barke Labour 1,458

Carolyn Hobbs-Waller Green Party 243

Chelmsford East

Ian Gale Liberal Democrat 3,295 ELECTED

David Lee Conservative 2,691

Robert Miller Labour 1,734

John Mudd Green Party 233

Chelmsford North

Thomas Smith-Hughes Liberal Democrat 2,796 ELECTED

Joan Bliss Labour 2,185

Kathleen Pauley Conservative 2,076

Angela Thomson Green Party 187

Chelmsford South

George Allen Liberal Democrat 2,935 ELECTED

Neil Gulliver Conservative 2,480

Robert Jones Labour 1,801

Joyce Shiner Green Party 239

Chelmsford West

Neil Spurgeon Labour 2,242 ELECTED

Stephen Robinson Liberal Democrat 1,910

Alastair Tween Conservative 1,544

Sheila Patrick Green Party 194

Great Baddow

Maureen Miller Liberal Democrat 2,735 ELECTED

David Sismey Conservative 2,086

Norman Hunt Labour 1,350

James Cross Green Party 228


Peter Martin Conservative 5,682 ELECTED

Michael Mackrory Liberal Democrat 3,526

William Horslen Labour 2,913

Eleanor Burgess Green Party 584


Lord Hanningfield Conservative 4,712 ELECTED

David Howell Labour 2,395

Margaret Hutchon Liberal Democrat 1,380

Robert Kenney Green Party 405

Woodham Ferrers & Danbury

Norman Hume Conservative 6,013 ELECTED

Ian Roberts Liberal Democrat 2,923

Madeline Diamond Labour 2,386

Colin Budgey Green Party 628




Village Links
 Wheatsheaf Public House